Skip to content
$4.95 Flat-Rate Shipping to the US
$4.95 Flat-Rate Shipping to the US
Edgar Rice Burroughs

Edgar Rice Burroughs


Edgar Rice Burroughs was an American author best known for creating the iconic character Tarzan and the Barsoom series, featuring John Carter of Mars. Born on September 1, 1875, in Chicago, Illinois, Burroughs had a diverse career path before becoming a prolific writer.

After a failed stint at various jobs, including gold mining and cowboy work in Idaho, Burroughs enlisted in the U.S. Cavalry, serving briefly before being discharged due to a heart condition. He then turned to various business ventures, all of which ended in failure. It wasn't until he turned to writing in his thirties that he found his true calling.

Burroughs' breakthrough came with the publication of his first novel, "Tarzan of the Apes," in 1912. This tale of a man raised by apes in the African jungle captured the public's imagination and became an instant sensation. Tarzan went on to become one of the most enduring and iconic characters in literature, spawning numerous sequels, adaptations, and spin-offs.

In addition to Tarzan, Burroughs created the Barsoom series, also known as the John Carter series, which chronicles the adventures of a Civil War veteran transported to the planet Mars. This series showcased Burroughs' imaginative world-building and storytelling skills, further solidifying his place in the annals of speculative fiction.

Throughout his career, Burroughs wrote over 80 novels, many of which were serialized in pulp magazines before being published as standalone books. His works continue to inspire generations of readers and have had a profound influence on popular culture, shaping the landscape of adventure fiction for decades to come. Edgar Rice Burroughs passed away on March 19, 1950, leaving behind a rich literary legacy that endures

Edgar Rice Burroughs

Important Works:

Important Works:

Tarzan Series:

  • Tarzan of the Apes
  • The Return of Tarzan
  • The Beasts of Tarzan
  • The Son of Tarzan
  • Tarzan and the Jewels of Opar
  • Tarzan the Untamed
  • Tarzan the Terrible
  • Tarzan and the Golden Lion
  • Tarzan and the Ant Men
  • Tarzan, Lord of the Jungle
  • Tarzan and the Lost Empire
  • Tarzan at the Earth's Core
  • Tarzan the Invincible
  • Tarzan Triumphant
  • Tarzan and the City of Gold
  • Tarzan and the Lion Man
  • Tarzan and the Leopard Men
  • Tarzan's Quest
  • Tarzan the Magnificent
  • Tarzan and the Forbidden City
  • Tarzan and the Foreign Legion
  • Tarzan and the Madman

Barsoom Series (John Carter of Mars):

  • A Princess of Mars
  • The Gods of Mars
  • The Warlord of Mars
  • Thuvia, Maid of Mars
  • The Chessmen of Mars
  • The Master Mind of Mars
  • A Fighting Man of Mars
  • Swords of Mars
  • Synthetic Men of Mars
  • Llana of Gathol
  • John Carter of Mars

Other Novels:

  • The Outlaw of Torn
  • The Efficiency Expert
  • The Girl from Farris's
  • The Oakdale Affair
  • The Land That Time Forgot
  • The Cave Girl
  • The Eternal Lover
  • The Moon Maid
  • Pirates of Venus
  • The War Chief
  • The Monster Men
  • Beyond Thirty
  • The Land of Hidden Men