Skip to content
$4.95 Flat-Rate Shipping to the US
$4.95 Flat-Rate Shipping to the US
Frances Hodgson Burnett

Frances Hodgson Burnett


Frances Hodgson Burnett, a prolific English-American author, delicately wove enchanting tales that continue to resonate with readers across generations. Born in Manchester, England, on November 24, 1849, Burnett's formative years were marked by challenges, inspiring her empathetic understanding of human nature.

Her literary prowess blossomed with the publication of her first novel, "That Lass o' Lowrie's" in 1877, revealing a knack for exploring class divides and social intricacies. However, it was her enchanting and timeless works for children that truly solidified her legacy.

In 1886, she penned "Little Lord Fauntleroy," a heartwarming story that transcends time, and which emphasized the purity of a child's heart. Yet, it was her masterpiece, "The Secret Garden," published in 1911, that secured her a special place in literary history. This novel ingeniously captured the transformative power of nature and the resilience of the human spirit, portraying characters who find healing and growth through the magic of an abandoned garden.

Burnett's storytelling was characterized by her ability to seamlessly blend the mundane with the magical. Her narratives encouraged readers to explore the hidden corners of their own imagination, discover their inner strength, and appreciate the beauty in everyday life.

Her relocation to the United States in 1865 offered new opportunities, where she continued to craft tales that touched hearts worldwide. Frances Hodgson Burnett's enduring legacy lies in her enchanting narratives, which beckon us to enter her worlds of wonder and inspiration, reminding us that the keys to transformation and happiness often lie just beyond the garden gate of our imagination.

Important Works:

  • That Lass o' Lowrie's
  • Surly Tim and Other Stories
  • Haworth's
  • Louisiana
  • A Fair Barbarian
  • Through One Administration
  • Little Lord Fauntleroy
  • Editha's Burglar: A Story for Children
  • The Pretty Sister of José
  • The Lost Prince
  • The One I Knew the Best of All
  • A Lady of Quality
  • His Grace of Osmonde
  • In Connection with the De Willoughby Claim
  • The Shuttle
  • The Making of a Marchioness
  • The Methods of Lady Walderhurst (also known as The Winning of Lady Walderhurst)
  • The Land of the Blue Flower
  • Emily Fox-Seton (also known as The Making of a Marchioness)
  • The Secret Garden
  • T. Tembarom
  • A Little Princess