Skip to content
$4.95 Flat-Rate Shipping to the US
$4.95 Flat-Rate Shipping to the US
Nathaniel Hawthorne

Nathaniel Hawthorne


Nathaniel Hawthorne emerges as one of the most iconic American writers of the 19th century, renowned for his masterful exploration of psychological complexity and moral ambiguity in his literary works. Born in Salem, Massachusetts, Hawthorne's upbringing was heavily influenced by his Puritan ancestry, a theme that would later feature prominently in his writing. His early life was marked by tragedy, as his father's death forced the family into relative seclusion, fostering a deep introspection that would resonate in his fiction. Hawthorne's literary career took off with the publication of "The Scarlet Letter" in 1850, a novel that delved into the corrosive effects of guilt and hypocrisy in a repressive society. Set in 17th-century Puritan Massachusetts, the novel follows the plight of Hester Prynne, a woman shunned by her community after bearing a child out of wedlock. Hawthorne's exploration of sin, redemption, and the dichotomy between public morality and private turmoil established him as a literary trailblazer. Beyond "The Scarlet Letter," Hawthorne's body of work includes other significant novels like "The House of the Seven Gables" and "The Blithedale Romance," each marked by his distinct blend of psychological insight and dark romanticism. His stories often veer into allegorical and symbolic realms, unveiling hidden truths about human nature and societal constraints. Nathaniel Hawthorne's legacy endures as an integral figure in the American literary canon, his narratives reflecting the inner struggles of his characters while revealing timeless complexities of the human experience.

Important Works:

  • The Scarlet Letter
  • The House of the Seven Gables
  • The Blithedale Romance
  • The Marble Faun
  • Twice-Told Tales
  • Mosses from an Old Manse
  • Tanglewood Tales
  • A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys
  • The Dolliver Romance
  • Septimius Felton; or, The Elixir of Life